NMSU Looking to Snap Nation's Longest Postseason Drought

Las Cruces, NM - The New Mexico State football program has had just four winning seasons since 1967. The Aggies haven't played in a bowl game since 1960, the longest postseason drought in all of college football. Despite the history, there is cautious optimism in Las Cruces this year.

NMSU returns 19 starters (10 on defense, 9 on offense) in 2017, including Tyler Rogers and Larry Rose III. "We are light years from where we were in years past," said head coach Doug Martin. "The best thing is the talent level is so much better here than what we've had. We have our fourth recruiting class in place. Our scholarship numbers our fixed here for the first time, so we have depth and experience."

The Aggies will be one of the most experienced teams in the Sun Belt Conference this season, but the non-conference schedule is brutal once again this year, with road games at Arizona State and Arkansas.

"We are really anxious to get out there and prove to everybody that we can make it happen," said running back Larry Rose III, who was named to the Maxwell Trophy Watch List last week. "It's very realistic to make it to a bowl game, but I personally believe to make it to a bowl game, you have to go through UNM and you have to go through UTEP."

NMSU will open fall camp in Las Cruces July 31st.

Don't Miss